•  
Home    Archive

News: For Free, For Everyone, Forever.

00:00:30UncleRobotI know CPR...
18:39:34Chadm1nSpammers must die. Now.
16:56:16Chadm1nAs promised a few weeks ago, Webcomics Community has been upgraded!

Author Topic: Starting your Webcomic Part 4: Diving Into Your Script  (Read 12724 times)

TakaComics

Starting your Webcomic Part 4: Diving Into Your Script
« on: February 15, 2010, 12:57:06 AM »
This week, I'll be discussing the one thing us writers always have a problem with. You have this great idea, with interesting characters and a cool world. Then your pen goes to the paper (or fingers to the keys), and...

...What happened? Where's that great idea? It's not coming out! This is how you start your script.

A little reminder: I am a story writer. For comic creators with comedic comics, you may not get much from this article. However, I hope you can get at least something.

What I'd like to talk about is the three places to start writing from. "But Trevor," you might ask, "you start from the beginning, right?" Well, you are correct. Or, a third correct.

You have at least three important parts in your story. And you can write from all three of them. I will call this "Ripple Effect." Writing backwards is just as important as writing forwards.

1.The Beginning

This is where most people start, as it is the place where most readers will start, unless they like spoilers! When you write from the beginning, you tend to evolve your story over time. You might add a character or change a scene you had planned. This works great for a webcomic, because you might get to a point where your writing is much better, and you want to change the ending or an important plot point. However, you want the "ripple" to affect your characters' back stories and even the world's story. These are your "Who? What? Where?" things that define your setting and characters.

2.The Climax