•  
Home    Archive

News: Webcomics beget Webcomics!

00:00:30UncleRobotI know CPR...
18:39:34Chadm1nSpammers must die. Now.
16:56:16Chadm1nAs promised a few weeks ago, Webcomics Community has been upgraded!

Author Topic: Comicpress Releasing Premium Pay For Version  (Read 38911 times)

Offline Rob

• Resident Dick!
  • Administrator
  • Easily Confused, Feeble Minded Founder
    • Remedial Comics
Re: Comicpress Releasing Premium Pay For Version
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2010, 11:32:07 PM »
Got it and perusing it now.

Thanks.  ;)

Offline jeffa

• Galactic Beacon
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2010, 09:22:32 AM »
Will they jump on the pay bandwagon and buy Comicpress 3.0 once it's out of Beta or will sites like Smackjeeves, Rampage, DrunkDuck and even alternative CMS's like the ones created by our own DrBlkKnight and DragonPowered be the wave of the future?

I have mixed feelings.

I'm a software developer by profession and really enjoy getting money. If I could get enough to have a big Scrooge McDuck style vault with a money pool for swimming, I'd surely do it.

For that reason, I absolutely cannot fault anyone who decides to charge money for their software. Making it is hard work and not just anyone can do it.

On the other hand it's really, really hard to convince people to pay for something you used to give them for free.

If ComicPress had ALWAYS been $30, then I doubt you'd hear any grumbling. Well not as much. The other problem is that it is an add-on to a bigger free product. Hard to talk people into paying for your add-on when the main program is free.

It is also wicked hard to get somone to pay you for something if your competition is giving away theirs for free.