•  
Home    Archive

News: For Free, For Everyone, Forever.

00:00:30UncleRobotI know CPR...
18:39:34Chadm1nSpammers must die. Now.
16:56:16Chadm1nAs promised a few weeks ago, Webcomics Community has been upgraded!

Author Topic: Amateur to pro, how to go?  (Read 11517 times)

wordgunofanun

Amateur to pro, how to go?
« on: June 18, 2010, 04:20:55 PM »
Hey! I'm new at all this, and just started writing. I eventually want to start a webcomic with some money making aspects. Don't have a teacher in this thing, but i'd like if someone successful here would take me under their wing and show me some tricks and the basics. I currently don't have anything published, but plenty of scripts lying around. I am also a member of ICCW (indycomicscreatorsworldwide) and i encourage you all to join. It is another great online community. http://indycreatorsworldwide.ning.com/ I know i have found a lot of helpful resources there. Anyway, hi! This is me.

Offline Rob

• Resident Dick!
  • Administrator
  • Easily Confused, Feeble Minded Founder
    • Remedial Comics
Re: Amateur to pro, how to go?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 04:51:38 PM »
Hello and welcome.

First piece of advice. Get an artist.  :D

Next piece would be to buy the book "How to Make Webcomics."

Do that and read a bunch of articles here and then we'll have something to talk about. Honestly starting yuo from scratch is the easy stuff. Alectric did a great job of making it into a very simple comic.

http://forum.webcomicscommunity.com/index.php/topic,481.0.html

But until you have the basic plan formed (and an artist) there's not a ton we can teach you. Read Gibson's "Writing Well", plan out your comic, get concept sketches of the characters and sets with your artist so you can agree on what everything looks like.

http://forum.webcomicscommunity.com/index.php/topic,409.0.html _Part one of Gibson's Article. It's a 6 parter.

And then it builds from there. Good luck.  ;)

wordgunofanun