•  
Home    Archive

News: Webcomics beget Webcomics!

00:00:30UncleRobotI know CPR...
18:39:34Chadm1nSpammers must die. Now.
16:56:16Chadm1nAs promised a few weeks ago, Webcomics Community has been upgraded!

Author Topic: Who am I?  (Read 8019 times)

mwytrykus

Who am I?
« on: January 07, 2010, 08:21:25 PM »
Well, I guess I'll get the ball rolling here.

I am Mike Wytrykus. I have been working on webcomics on and off since 1997. In the early days of webcomics, I briefly ran a site called Novatoons that featured work from several aspiring webcartoonists of the day. Since 2000, I have sporadically updated a comic strip called Grimstone. Grimstone is about a skeleton named Ribcage who lives in a town of monsters and supernatural creatures and makes his "living" appearing in monster movies and TV shows. I've done it as a daily strip, a semi-daily, a weekly strip, and a print-on-demand comic book. Basically I've never been able to stick to one format or update schedule, but I keep plugging away because the comic is important to me. One of these days I'll hopefully find my groove with it.

I am also working on another project that may supplant Grimstone as my main comic. It's aimed more at kids (which Grimstone is not), and I'm deciding exactly what format I want it to take (daily strip, monthly comic, iPhone app) before I start it. I want to avoid most, if not all, the mistakes I've made with Grimstone.

I also do some freelance work for iVerse Media adapting comic books to the iPhone. And I've been known to create some stop-motion toy videos on occasion, before Robot Chicken made it cool. You can view those over on YouTube.

Offline CorvusErebus

• Chief Web Designer
Re: Who am I?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2010, 08:25:18 PM »
Welcome to the WCC Mwytrkus. Yeah, since I can't pronounce that, I'm going to call you Trykus.

I looked over Grimstone, and for the most part, I liked what I saw. If you ever want to discuss your comic or your plans, you're in the right place.